Last of the Schools (LOS) part 1

Summer vacation is around the corner for students… exams are beginning this week for many and run, depending on the school, for several weeks. The official summer vacation begins a couple of days before Christmas. The new academic year begins the end of February – beginning of March.

I have been visiting the school, EET 7, in Avellaneda -both English and History classes and have truly enjoyed the teachers and the students – they were so welcoming, friendly and interested. Both classes, unfortunately, only meet one time a week for 2 hours… that is – Argentina time… they do not have full 2 hour classes… they begin around 30 minutes in, then they have about a 20 minute break in the middle… you do the math:).

Aldo Martinez, is the history teacher, another “taxi” teacher who is a native of Avellaneda. He welcomed me into the class and shared many thoughts on education in Argentina – the pros and cons, the issues, the reasons why it is the way it is… the list goes on and calls for another post or even a book! In any case, he works in 4 different schools and invited me to join him in another history class at a private school in the same town later that week. He explained that he ends every year with the military dictatorship and shows a movie… “the Official Story”… the same film that I use. It was fantastic to observe not only the class, but how he incorporates the same movie, and the comments that he adds coming from an argentinian.  The students were a little more reserved, but asked me some questions and offered me their thoughts on the memory and the last dictatorship. It was fun!

Back at EET 7, a couple of weeks ago, I brought my forms for them to fill out as I wanted to interview them for my project. It was the beginning of their unit on the last dictatorship and I wanted to do a pre-unit activity with them and film it. They were very enthusiastic and willing to do this so I was doubly excited to go back. Well, unfortunately, I learned that spring fever / ‘senioritis’ exists in Argentina too! Not one student had their form! I was so disappointed. But as all good teachers… I had a plan B! Long story short, I was able to do a mini lesson with them and they worked so well! Instead of filming them discussing – I had them write a one-word (or phrase) answer to my question and hold it up in front of their faces. Take a look… what do you think the question was?… What I realized while doing this, was how much I miss being with my students and working with kids… it was lots of fun!

1 thought on “Last of the Schools (LOS) part 1

  1. Clever Plan B… guess we’ll always have to have one of those! I think the documentary piece (with these signed forms) is definitely going to be tricky. I liked seeing your creative “cover” in a pinch.

Leave a comment